After several months of trying to get satisfaction from Mediclinic over my treatment during the birth of my second child I have decided to write my story as a blog post if nothing else to give visibilty to the poor treatment rendered to me that night, and also help provide me with some closure on the events of that night. As the story unfolds I have been living in Cape Town with my family for about a year, and had attended all our pre-natal visits with our excellent obgyn. We chose the Mediclinic as it was a recommend health center by our insurance provider. However at the telling of this story we had moved from the CBD to Somerset West about 30mins away.

On the night of  22nd December, 2014 at around 2 am I arrived after a frantic drive at the Mediclinic Cape Town on Hof Street in labor. This was after a previous visit about 12hours earlier when I had initial gone into ‘early’ labor but as had not started dilating was sent home. About an hour prior I started into proper labor prompting our second journey to the clinic.

My husband dropped me at the emergency exit of the center where the on duty security guard and another lady swiftly wheeled me with care and concern to the delivery ward, clearly seeing I was in labor.

Unfortunately this was not to continue once when I reached the delivery ward.

From the moment we arrived on the ward, the midwives received me with arms crossed and nose up asking me what was wrong! As if they couldn’t see that I was heavily pregnant and in obvious pain and clearly showing signs of labor.  The curiosity here was we spoke to our doctor on the drive in who told us she would alert them. As we had already visited the clinic earlier in the day as well.

After the midwife let us call her Midwife A walked up to me sluggishly with her arms crossed saying, “what’s the problem?”
meanwhile the second midwife Midwife B appeared totally indifferent, whilst wreaking of cigarette smoke which was just repugnant especially to a pregnant woman in labor.

I informed them I was in labor and needed an epidural. Now let me clarify something. This was my second child and I had discussed my birth plan in detail with my obgyn so was informed and aware of the treatment options.

The security guard then wheeled me to a bed where I asked (while in deep pain) for support from the midwife as my husband and 1 year old son were still downstairs parking the car, and it is at this point that Midwife A then said to me, “DON’T TOUCH ME, I AM NOT THE ONE WHO DID THIS TO YOU!!!! ” she rudely declined to support me and was shouting at me for crying and being in labor pain?

As the Midwife A refused to support me, the security guard assisted me and held me up when I could not support myself because of intense back pain coursing through me during the labor contractions.

This kind guard then helped me up on to the bed. After which the guard kindly said she had to get back to her work station downstairs.
That is when my husband and 1 year old son arrived, Midwife A rudely told my husband, “YOU GO TO YOUR WIFE!!!”.

Around this time and once I could in between a contraction told her once again that I wished to have an epidural, and could she contact the anaesthetist or doctor.

I again asked if she had called Dr and she said she had, in a brush off manner.

With her attitude and response, I didn’t believe her, so I pulled out my mobile phone to phone and speak to the doctor myself in between contractions to which the midwife strongly was against and strongly and loudly demanded that I not call the doctor, saying I would be bothering the doctor.

I ignored her and went ahead to call the doctor. After a quick introduction the doctor asked to speak to the midwife as she had not yet done so. This indicated that Midwife A had indeed lied to myself and my husband when she said she called the doctor already.
After which I asked the midwife if the anaesthetist was on the way to which they replied yes in a manner which led me to believe they just wanted to shut me up. By now it was after 2am.

We did not unfortunately have the anaesthetists’ number to call and confirm this.

It is around now that the Midwives complained to us saying, “why did you bring a 1 year old to the hospital? ” As if this was a casual site seeing visit at 2 am to the labor ward.

(To give you some background both my husband and I recently moved to Cape Town and did not as yet have any friends or family we could leave our son with.)

My husband therefore had to go to another room so that our son would not see his mother in agony as he was finding it distressing and while trying to reach a cousin of his to come help stay with our son.

As such I was left alone in the delivery room, with Midwife A. She came in occasionally only to check the machines and paid me, the patient, scant attention.

Yet that night there were no other deliveries. We were alone in the ward. I dread to imagine what would have happened had there been another one or two patients.

Right then it felt as though the medical equipment was receiving more attention than myself, the patient(s).

My labor continued to intensify and I began crying out in pain. Again incredulously Midwife A came over, hostility and again shouted at me saying I was making noise for the hospital and the neighbours, as though this was should be my concern at this moment.

This so saddened and annoyed me and I finally told her that she was rude, extremely unsympathetic, inconsiderate and is shouting and at me loudly! I then continued to say that if she did not want to be a Midwife to me she could leave instead of shouting and putting me under all that stress. To top off the physical pain I was in, the noise from the midwife shouting at me, was really emotionally distressing.

I sat there crying alone and when the contractions worsened I tried to call out to my husband and the Midwife again happily assured me saying, “your husband is not coming, he cannot hear you, he’s far away”.

My husbands cousin finally arrived allowing him to leave our son and come and assist me.

Midwife A asked where our son was born and I told her he was born in the UK, and we were from the UK.
Suddenly, the Midwife’s demeanour changed she seemed more concerned, and started rubbing my forehead and offered me patient care.

I later wondered if she only called the anaesthetist after she found out we were from the UK?

Finally at 3:15 anaesthetist arrived he apologized that he had been slightly delayed as he had not been able to get in the building, but by the time he administered the epidural, which was about 15mins later my doctor arrived I was fully dilated at 10cm and it was now after 4am and ready to give birth.

It was around this time that we found out that, during the actual birth of our daughter, another nurse had confronted my husbands’ cousin and son who had woken and was upset. She proceeded to also complain about the noise despite them being in a waiting room not near any of the occupied wards and suggest they go out of the hospital at 4am! My in-law refused saying ,’how can I take a baby out of the hospital in this cold night?’

The birth proceed relatively quickly and at 4:43am our daughter was born.

It is at this point I found the midwife behaviour extremely pretentious and insincere. She started to kiss my forehead with a crocodile smile, telling me I did well after giving birth.

Was she trying to show the Doctor who was present that she was concerned about me?

I was in such terror that I wanted to leave the hospital immediately as soon as I could after giving birth. However as my husband and son had been sent home because we were told babies were not allowed in the recovery ward and I was told to wait at least until the baby saw the paediatrician.

I literally couldn’t sleep as I worried How would I or my baby be safe after all the above had happened? I was exhausted after giving birth and having had a hostile and painful both physically and emotionally draining night, I feared that this midwife who had displayed profound disregard for me and my family and chose to exhibit it without reservation at my most vulnerable and helpless moment would do something to me and or my baby.

The next day during my doctors visit I proceeded to outline the story. She listened with a sympathetic ear and told me I must immediate tell the Mediclinic management. She got me the contact details of the Customer Service Manager.

After a better two nights stay (including a very pleasant pedicure) we were allowed to take our daughter home.

However the experience had left me shaken and emotionally scarred. It is normal post birth for mothers to feel a ride of emotions and you have to be aware of symptoms of post-natal depression. Although I can not be sure, it was not in part the baby blues. Over the proceeding days and weeks this experience left me feeling emotionally raw and down.

Several questions loomed in my mind;

Why had we paid for an epidural and due to the Midwives delay only received it once I was done with labor and fully dilated?
Maybe if we had announced upon arrival that we were from the UK, we could have been treated with dignity and as human beings and maybe I could have got the epidural on time and maybe even have got actual patient care that we paid for? This, I found to be extremely pretentious and racist.

Why did the Midwives receive us in a vile and indifferent manner? Shouting at me, telling me my labor cries were making noise for the neighbours, being rude to my husband, blaming us for coming to the hospital with our 1 year old son thus terrifying the little boy further and creating unnecessary tension for us all, then trying to chase our son out of the hospital? Why when she found out that we were from the UK,  suddenly, starting to treat us with more dignity, appearing to become more of human beings to her?

Wow, how can someone’s behaviour be what I can only summarize as racist in a hospital?

Investigation Afterwards

I did not want to let the matter rest as I was so hurt by the ordeal. We contacted the Mediclinic Customer Service Team and outlined what had transpired. After which we on the advise of our obgyn and doctor got a interview with them to discuss the same. After a follow up visit to the OBGYN we arranged a meeting with the CSM and Head Sister of the Labor Ward and proceeded to outline the story again, and hear them out. They apologized and informed us they had spoken to the Midwife. They asked if we would like a personal apology for the incident from the Midwife. I did not. I did not want to be in the same room as her ever again. They offered a written apology instead. The Sister insisted that I accept an apology letter from the midwife so that at the very least the midwife will have apologized for her behaviour toward my family and myself. I also asked them for their call logs to see when the midwife called the anaesthetist, (they later show that she lied again when she told me she had called the anaesthetist at 2am when I asked her to).
I said I would consider the written apology and we left for home.

A few days later a bunch of flowers arrived unannounced from one of the Mediclinic drivers and a single liner apology letter. A single line. I could barely look at the flowers as I knew what they represented (Which if you know me is rare) and initially thought they had brought a bill!

Mediclinic appeared to feel this was the end of the matter and no further communication was made by them until I contacted them again several weeks later.

I could not accept the midwife’s apology because she knew what she was doing, what was happening to me, my unborn baby, my husband and my little son and yet she still acted with what can only be described as cruel, racist, rude, unsympathetic manner. If anything she magnified all the pain, until she found out that we were from the UK.

However I seem to be unfortunately struggling to bring the gravity of this incident to Mediclinic management attention, after several meetings and emails back and forth they have told me they no longer wish to discuss the matter which is the point of this blog post. They seem to infer that it is my wrong for not meeting with the midwife to hear her apology.

I have continually asked Mediclinic Managment to address this with the severity it deserves and to be suitable compensated for the tremendous distress exerted by the midwives in what is an already physically distressing time. In additional paying for an epidural to help curb the labor pains and receiving it at at tail end of the labor seems unfair;

The response  from Mediclinic management all the way to the CEO has been evasive.
The Mediclinic Cape Town branch Manager offered me and my family a shopping voucher of 1500 rands, which is roughly 150$US. To give you a example the epidural cost 450$ alone.
This seemed insulting to the pain and trouble my family and myself went through.

Mediclinic by offering the shopping voucher as compensation essentially show that they acknowledge that the treatment their midwives expressed was poor but the management is still not being responsible and accountable to me and my family. This just doesn’t add up.

Does this mean the Mediclinic management condones hostile behavior at their international hospitals?

The Mediclinic management seemed to infer that I was in the wrong for not meeting up with the midwife to hear her apology, I responded saying in which case maybe it will be good to meet up as they want, and perhaps then, the midwife would elaborate on her  actions and perhaps then, it would become a little clearer what my family and myself went through during the birth of our daughter.

I want to see Mediclinic take responsibility, ownership and accountability that is, if Mediclinic hospitals and management do not condone such behaviour towards their patients and their families/caretakers in general

After having fruitless conversations for 7 months now with various managers, both in SA and abroad I want Mediclinic to explain to me how they came up with a such a paltry monetary compensation and why they think I should accept it as compensation for what my family and myself went through.

I calculated that in trying to bring this complaint to Mediclinics attention I have spent over 1500 rand, in transport, phone bills alone not to mention both my husband and my time.

Not only do I want to be fairly compensated for the vile ordeal my son, husband, myself and lastly unborn daughter went through, but I also want them to acknowledge in monetary terms that they made a mistake, and want to genuinely make it right.

I first reported this matter on the day I gave birth, 22nd December, 2014 to the delivering Doctor who advised me to email management which I did on 27th December, 2014. If Mediclinic wanted to take this seriously, they could have looked at their emergency room surveillance feed to see what time I got in, and compare it with the time I used my mobile phone to call my Dr (gynaecologist) and compare that to when the midwife called the anaesthetist for example.

However clearly investigating this matter does not appear to be the case.

I hope this blog post goes someway to persuading them to again take this matter to heart and make a genuine and heartfelt apology and compensation for the treatment we received. This has greatly shaken both my faith in their medical professionals and treatment of ‘International’ patients. To  be clear my OBGYN, her stand in Doctor that night, Anaesthetist and later the Paediatrician and nurses on the recovery ward were highly professional, and we have nothing but the upmost respect for their treatment of me and my baby before during and after this night. Also the ancillary staff at Mediclinc including the savior security Security Guard deserve mention.

However this has sullied what should have been a joyous and happy occasion. Luckily my daughter is beautiful and grows lovelier every day, however I still am somewhat apprehensive and sad whenever we return to Mediclinic for follow up visits.